Guest Post: Tiffany of Sounds Like Life to Me, on Technology

tech kisma
photo credit: Expression via photopin (license)

We’re proud to present our first guest post on Tech Life.

guest post tlTiffany writes the blog Sounds Like Life to Me. She’s a mom, a wife, and a writer. We asked her to tell us how technology has changed her life. Many of us will be able to identify with so much of what Tiffany says about the struggle between the benefits and pitfalls of a technologically advancing society.

Be sure to check out Tiffany’s blog after you read her post here.

How tech changed my life – good and bad

I have a love – hate relationship with many things.

I love coffee but hate BLACK coffee, blah!

I love the flavor an onion provides to a dish but hate their texture, gross.

I am finally slowing down and getting around to this fabulous idea.

I love the warmer spring days and watching things bloom but HATE that those same beautiful blooms make my allergies go haywire making the act of breathing a daily challenge.

Technology is no different.

Tech Life blog is a new blog about technology and how it has changed our lives. Its creators asked me to for a guest post some time ago, and then life took us both down the fast lane with end of the school year, soccer, graduations, etc. And I am finally slowing down and getting around to this fabulous idea.

An online diary of my life

The question: How has Technology changed my life?

It’s a love-hate relationship, one that has both enriched my world as well as caused it major frustrations.

My blog, my online diary of my life that I share with others who can relate, share and make me aware that I am not alone. Raising kids, keeping a marriage vibrant, and keeping my sanity all at the same time. The struggle is real folks!

I’ve encountered Internet trolls and spam for solicitors.

Life is a constant struggle to just keep it together.

I have met some of the most amazing people near and far through my blog as well as those I read. I also met some real “winners” if you know what I mean. Internet trolls and spam for solicitors. I had to figure out fast the filtering on my comments because holy mother of pearl its insane!

My following consists of folks like myself, people I want to be around me. You are funny, wise, sarcastic and sassy.

Just ‘Google’ it

I love my blog.

Google – which I like to call the electronic encyclopedias that are not even close to accurate. Kids today, not just mine, have this wonderful technological source that they can use to look up anything! I am so guilty when my kids ask me something that they think I may know a little bit about, I will tell them to “Google it” to confirm my accuracy or inaccuracy as it has been known to be, because after all, if its on the internet, it HAS to be right, right?

I love Google because we can find answers to questions such as “What year did Alexander the Great overthrow the Persian Empire?”

I also hate Google because you can look up the following: “What is Pleurisy?”

Technology is a blessing and a curse.

You learn that it is caused by a viral infection or worse; an underlying problem such as pulmonary embolism, and immediately think your husband is going to die because you decided to research it on WebMD instead of JUST WAITING for the doctors to tell you he is fine. He will live a long and a prosperous life. He just needs to chill and take some ibuprofen a couple times a day to get the inflammation to go away because it is in fact, nothing more than a mild inflammation caused by a viral infection which means, it simply must run its course.

Technology is a blessing and a curse. The younger generation is missing out on the struggles we had at their age. If the power went out, it wasn’t a big deal because we were already outside with our friends. Now their friends are online with them, and when the power goes away for even the briefest of moments, so do they.

It is tragedy, really.

# # #

For us who remember the period before apps and iTunes and YouTube videos of fluffy felines, I think we had a better appreciation for life and the world around us.
Am I wrong?

I know the one-day I left my phone at home; it was almost blissful.

Just saying.


tiff mug tlTiffany – aka Kisma – is a mom of two teenagers, two felines, a corgi and married to her best friend since 1995. She spends her day running an office full of busy commercial appraisers – checking their grammar while simultaneously keeping copiers in working order, the coffee pots full and the clients happy. When she isn’t busy running an office or the home front she can be found lost in a good book, working in her garden, hiking the trails of Colorado or diligently trying to finally write that book.   

Email : kismaslife@gmail.com

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

boliska quote tl

5 thoughts on “Guest Post: Tiffany of Sounds Like Life to Me, on Technology

  1. This is all greek to me. I know nothing about it, but I can tell you this… it looks like you did a great job. When I don’t know something all I do it google it too. If google doesn’t know either do I . ~hehehehe~ I’d say you’re a good friend for sure for doing such a thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

